(Juhi Aishwary, Intern Journalist):  Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla has nominated 15 MPs from Jammu and Kashmir, Assam, Manipur, Nagaland, and Arunachal Pradesh as associate members of the Delimitation Commission. These MPs will assist the Commission in the delimitation of Lok Sabha and Assembly Constituencies of North Eastern States and Union Territories. These include Union ministers Kiran Rijiju and Jitendra Singh.

The Delimitation Commission had recently written a letter to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha and the Legislatures of the four states of the North-East, asking them to name the members of the committee. There is currently no assembly in Jammu and Kashmir. It is Union Territory and there is a provision of Legislative Assembly. According to the Lok Sabha Bulletin of 26 May, Union Ministers Rijiju and Tapir Gao will represent Arunachal Pradesh. Assam will be represented by Pallab Lochan Das, Abdul Khalik, Rajdeep Roy, Dilip Saikia, and Naba (Heera) Kumar Sarania.

Piphoje and Ranjan Singh Rajkumar have been included, while Tokheho Yepthomi of Nagaland has got representation. Farooq Abdullah, Mohammad Akbar Lone, Hasnain Masoodi, Jugal Kishore Sharma, and Union Minister Jitendra Singh from Jammu and Kashmir have been included in the committee.

Significantly, on March 6, the government constituted the Delimitation Commission under the chairmanship of former Supreme Court Judge RP Desai. It is to determine the Lok Sabha and assembly constituencies of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the northeastern states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, and Nagaland. Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and State Election Commissioner of Jammu and Kashmir and 4 states are going to be its ex-officio members.

About Post Author